Skip to content
Volt & Valley — Volt & Valley home

EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus vs BLUETTI AC180

A bigger battery with more sockets against a lighter one that takes twice the solar and grows to 5kWh. It is less close than it looks.

Volt & Valley is reader-funded. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you, as an Amazon Associate. Commission never decides a ranking — see how we choose and our affiliate disclosure.

Two people sitting beside a lakeside campfire at dusk

The verdict: buy the EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus unless you specifically want the biggest battery in the class and four AC sockets in a unit that will not move. The EcoFlow takes twice the solar input, weighs 7.7 lb less, expands to 5kWh, switches over faster, surges higher and carries an IP65 rating. The BLUETTI's answer is 128Wh more battery, twice the sockets, and an explicit pass-through disclosure — a real but narrow case.

This is the comparison where a spec table actually settles things, because the two units are not optimized for the same buyer at all. One is a mobile, expandable solar platform. The other is a big quiet box for a fixed job.

The decision table

Manufacturer-published figures. Watt-hours per pound is our arithmetic; blank means the maker does not publish the figure.
EcoFlow DELTA 3 PlusBLUETTI AC180
Capacity1,024Wh1,152Wh
Weight27.6 lb35.27 lb
Wh per pound37.132.7
AC continuous1,800W (2,200W X-Boost)1,800W
Surge3,600W2,700W
Max solar input1,000W (2 x 500W MPPT)500W
AC recharge56 min at 1,500W input1.3-1.8 hr at up to 1,440W
UPS switchoverUnder 10 ms20 ms
Cycle rating4,000 to 80%+3,500+ to 80%
ExpandableYes, to 5kWhNo
AC sockets64
Best USB-C2 x 140W1 x 100W
Weather ratingIP65Not published
Operating temperatureNot published0°C to 40°C
Pass-through chargingNot stated explicitlyYes
Car chargingUp to 800WNot published
Warranty5 years5 years

Where the EcoFlow wins, which is most places

Solar input, by double. 1,000W across two 500W MPPT channels against 500W total. For anyone intending to live off panels this is not a margin, it is the entire decision — the input ceiling on the box is the one spec you cannot upgrade later by buying more panel. How much solar input you need explains why this governs everything about off-grid charging.

Expansion to 5kWh. The AC180 is fixed at 1,152Wh for the life of the unit. The DELTA 3 Plus head unit can grow nearly fivefold. If your requirement is uncertain — a van build, a first RV season, an outage plan that keeps getting more ambitious — that difference is worth more than any single spec on this table.

Weight, by 7.7 lb. 37.1Wh per pound against 32.7 is a 13% advantage, and in absolute terms the BLUETTI is 28% heavier for 12.5% more battery. That is a poor exchange rate if the unit moves at all. The weight guide makes the case properly.

Surge headroom, by 900W. 3,600W against 2,700W, with 2,200W available through X-Boost for resistive loads. Same 1,800W continuous rating, but the EcoFlow has considerably more room for a compressor start — which is exactly the spec that decides whether a full-size fridge runs. Can a power station run a refrigerator covers why surge beats capacity for that question.

Charging in every direction. 56 minutes from the wall against 1.3-1.8 hours, up to 800W of alternator charging where BLUETTI publishes no car-charging figure at all, and 1,000W of solar. Three fast refill routes against one adequate one.

The smaller things that add up: six AC sockets against four, two 140W USB-C ports against one 100W, an IP65 rating for sitting outside with panels, a 4,000-cycle rating to 80%+ against 3,500+ to 80%, and an under-10 ms switchover against 20 ms.

Where the BLUETTI wins

128Wh more battery — 1,152Wh against 1,024Wh, a 12.5% edge. It is the largest battery in the 1kWh class we cover, and in a fixed role where weight is irrelevant that is simply more of the thing you bought.

Published pass-through charging. BLUETTI prints "Pass-through Charging: Yes" directly on the specification page. EcoFlow does not state it explicitly in the specs we read. That is a documentation win rather than a capability win, but if you are buying for permanent plugged-in duty, knowing beats inferring. Pass-through charging explained covers why the distinction matters.

A published temperature range. BLUETTI publishes 0°C to 40°C, with output capped at 1,500W maximum in the 30-40°C band. EcoFlow publishes no temperature figures for the DELTA 3 Plus at all. If the unit lives in a garage or a hot van, one of these makers has told you something and the other has not. Power stations in cold weather sets out why this disclosure is worth looking for.

Socket variety for a shared job. Four AC sockets, four USB-A ports, a 100W USB-C, a 12V/10A DC socket and a 15W wireless charging pad. For a unit sitting on a table that several people plug into, that spread is more useful than a higher solar ceiling.

Pick the EcoFlow if

  • Solar is part of the plan, especially more than 500W of panel.
  • Your capacity requirement might grow — van, RV, longer outages.
  • The unit moves between a vehicle, a campsite and a house.
  • You need surge headroom for a full-size fridge or a compressor.
  • It will sit outside with an array and a weather rating matters.

Pick the BLUETTI if

  • The unit has a fixed home and will rarely be lifted.
  • You want the largest battery in the class and will not add panels.
  • Several people plug into it and socket count decides the day.
  • You want pass-through charging stated explicitly rather than inferred.
  • A published operating temperature range matters for where it lives.

Our view

The BLUETTI is a good unit and the AC180 earns its place in our reviews and the camping roundup's car-camping slot, where a big battery and four sockets in a boot is exactly right. But across this specific comparison the EcoFlow wins on seven axes and loses on three, and two of the three losses are documentation rather than capability. Unless you have identified the narrow case where socket count and battery size outrank everything else, the DELTA 3 Plus is the better purchase.

If you want the brand-level version of this question, all four brands compared and BLUETTI vs Jackery go wider. The main roundup ranks both against six other units.

The picks in full

1. The better buy for most people

EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus

A modern kitchen counter with small appliances plugged in
Capacity
1,024Wh
Chemistry
LFP (LiFePO4)
AC output
1,800W continuous / 3,600W surge
Weight
27.6 lb
Max solar input
1000W
Cycle rating
4,000 cycles to 80%+ capacity
AC recharge
Full in 56 min (1,500W AC input)
Warranty
5 years
Check price on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission at no extra cost to you. How this is funded

1,000W of solar input across two MPPT channels and a path to 5kWh is the combination that wins this comparison. Those are the two specifications you cannot change after purchase, and the DELTA 3 Plus has roughly double and roughly five times what the AC180 offers respectively. Everything else here is adjustable later; those two are not.

It is also the lighter unit by 7.7 lb, the faster one from the wall at 56 minutes, the one with more surge headroom at 3,600W, the one with more sockets at six AC, and the one with an IP65 rating for sitting out in weather with an array. Add up to 800W of alternator charging and it has three serious refill routes where the BLUETTI has one.

What you give up is 128Wh of battery and some documentation: EcoFlow publishes no temperature range for this model and does not state pass-through charging explicitly in the specs we read. Expansion batteries are also separate purchases, so the 5kWh figure is a path rather than a product.

Reasons to buy

  • 1,000W solar input across two MPPT channels — double the BLUETTI
  • Expandable to 5kWh; the BLUETTI is fixed forever
  • 27.6 lb against 35.27 lb, and 37.1Wh per pound against 32.7
  • 3,600W surge and 2,200W via X-Boost; under-10 ms UPS switchover
  • Six AC sockets, two 140W USB-C ports, IP65 rated, 800W car charging

Reasons to avoid

  • 1,024Wh — 128Wh less battery than the BLUETTI
  • No temperature range published for this model
  • Pass-through charging not stated explicitly in the specs we read
  • The 1,000W solar figure requires two separate arrays

Buy it if: solar, growth, movement, and surge headroom for a compressor.

Skip it if: the unit never moves and you simply want the biggest battery with the most sockets.

Read the full EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus review →

A note on these figures: EcoFlow publishes solar input as two MPPT inputs of 500W each (1,000W combined) on the DELTA 3 Plus; the plain DELTA 3 is 500W total.

2. Pick this for a fixed job with many plugs

BLUETTI AC180

A camping table lit by string lights after dark
Capacity
1,152Wh
Chemistry
LiFePO4
AC output
1,800W continuous / 2,700W surge
Weight
35.27 lb
Max solar input
500W
Cycle rating
3,500+ cycles to 80% original capacity
AC recharge
1.3-1.8 hr full (1,440W max AC input)
Warranty
5 years
Check price on Amazon

#ad We earn a commission at no extra cost to you. How this is funded

1,152Wh is the largest battery in the 1kWh class we cover, and four AC sockets, four USB-A ports, a 100W USB-C, a 12V/10A socket and a 15W wireless pad is the most generous socket spread here. For a unit that lives in one place and gets plugged into by several people, that is the specification that actually gets used.

BLUETTI is also the better documented of these two in the ways that matter for a stationary unit: it prints pass-through charging as a yes on the spec page, publishes an operating range of 0°C to 40°C with a note that output caps at 1,500W above 30°C, and publishes a 20 ms UPS switchover and a 1.3-1.8 hour recharge at up to 1,440W input. 3,500+ cycles to 80% original capacity is a long life for standby duty.

The costs are real and they are structural. 500W of solar input is half the EcoFlow's ceiling and cannot be raised. It is not expandable. 2,700W of surge is 900W less headroom for a compressor start. And 35.27 lb for 1,152Wh is 32.7Wh per pound, the worst ratio in its class here.

Reasons to buy

  • 1,152Wh — the largest battery in its class here
  • Four AC sockets plus four USB-A, a 100W USB-C and a 15W wireless pad
  • Publishes pass-through charging explicitly, and an operating range of 0°C to 40°C
  • 3,500+ cycles to 80% original capacity; 20 ms UPS switchover
  • 1.3-1.8 hour full recharge at up to 1,440W input

Reasons to avoid

  • 500W solar input, half the EcoFlow's ceiling, and not raisable
  • Not expandable at all
  • 2,700W surge against the EcoFlow's 3,600W
  • 35.27 lb — 32.7Wh per pound, the worst in its class here

Buy it if: a fixed position, a shared table, and a job that never needs more than 500W of panel.

Skip it if: solar, expansion or carrying are any part of the plan.

Read the full BLUETTI AC180 review →

Questions

Frequently asked questions

Is the EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus better than the BLUETTI AC180?
For most buyers, yes. It takes twice the solar input, expands to 5kWh, weighs 7.7 lb less, surges 900W higher and switches over faster. The AC180's answers are 128Wh more battery, four AC sockets and better documentation on pass-through and temperature.
Which has the bigger battery?
The BLUETTI AC180, at 1,152Wh against 1,024Wh — a 12.5% edge, and the largest battery in the 1kWh class we cover. It pays for it in weight: 35.27 lb against 27.6 lb.
Which is better for solar charging?
The EcoFlow, decisively. It accepts 1,000W across two 500W MPPT channels; the BLUETTI caps at 500W total. That ceiling is fixed at purchase, so it is the most consequential difference on the page for anyone charging off-grid.
Can either run a full-size refrigerator?
Both have 1,800W of continuous output, which is ample for a fridge's 100-200W running draw. The difference is surge: the EcoFlow's 3,600W gives far more headroom for the compressor start than the BLUETTI's 2,700W. Full detail.
Which has more AC outlets?
The EcoFlow, with six against the BLUETTI's four. The BLUETTI compensates with four USB-A ports, a 12V/10A DC socket and a 15W wireless charging pad, which is a more varied spread if your devices are small.
Which is better as a UPS?
The EcoFlow on switchover time — under 10 ms against 20 ms — but the BLUETTI is the only one of the two that publishes pass-through charging explicitly. Both figures sit inside the band that matters for sensitive equipment. Pass-through charging explained.

Sources