Pass-Through Charging Explained
Two features get sold under one name. One lets you charge while you draw; the other covers the instant the mains disappears.

The short answer
At a glance
Quick picks
Tap any row to jump to the full write-up. Weight is a column here because it is the spec that decides whether you actually carry the thing.
| # | Product | Best for | Capacity · Weight | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2 | Fastest published switchover | 1,024Wh 24.9 lb | Check price |
| 2 | BLUETTI AC180 | The one that publishes pass-through plainly | 1,152Wh 35.27 lb | Check price |
| 3 | EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus | Best if the outage might outlast the battery | 1,024Wh 27.6 lb | Check price |
This is one of the most reliably misunderstood specs in the category, and the confusion costs people money. Someone buys a unit advertised as supporting pass-through charging, plugs a desktop computer and a router into it, plugs the unit into the wall, and assumes they now have a battery backup. Then the power flickers and everything reboots.
Both features exist and both are useful. They are just answers to different questions.
What pass-through charging actually is
Anker's published definition is the clearest one: pass-through charging means "the power station can receive power from the wall while supplying power to connected devices." That is it. Energy comes in through the AC input and goes out through the sockets at the same time, with whatever is left over going into the battery.
The practical value is straightforward. You can leave the unit plugged in at a campsite with a mains hook-up and run a fridge off it, and the fridge does not stop when you connect the charger. You can plug it into the van's shore power at a site, run everything from the unit, and arrive at the next stop with a full battery. Without pass-through you would have to choose: charge, or use.
BLUETTI publishes "Pass-through Charging: Yes" directly on the AC180's specification page, which is the kind of plain disclosure that makes a spec sheet useful. Others are less explicit, and absence of the phrase does not always mean absence of the capability — it often just means the maker lists it elsewhere, or not at all.
What UPS mode adds on top
A UPS — uninterruptible power supply — is about the handover, not the charging. When mains power disappears, there is a gap before the battery takes over, and the length of that gap decides whether your equipment survives it. Anker's guidance notes that "UPS support requires a fast battery switchover during outages" and warns that "a 20-50 ms delay can shut them down" for sensitive devices.
That is the whole reason switchover time is published in milliseconds. A desktop PC without its own internal buffer, a NAS mid-write, or some network equipment will drop out on a 30 ms gap. A fridge compressor, a lamp or a phone charger will not notice 100 ms.
The published switchover figures in our set
| Unit | UPS switchover | Pass-through published? | Max AC input |
|---|---|---|---|
| Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2 | 10 ms | Not stated explicitly | 1,600W |
| EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus | Under 10 ms | Not stated explicitly | 1,500W |
| Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 | Under 20 ms | Not stated explicitly | Not published |
| BLUETTI AC180 | 20 ms | Yes | 1,440W |
| EcoFlow DELTA 2 Max | Under 20 ms | Not stated explicitly | Not published |
Every one of those figures sits inside the band Anker's guidance describes as potentially problematic for the most sensitive equipment, which is worth sitting with for a moment. A 10 ms unit will carry almost everything in a normal house. A 20 ms unit will carry almost everything too, but if you have one device that absolutely cannot blink, test it rather than assume it.
What to look for, in order
A published switchover time, if the unit is going to sit between the wall and something that matters. This is the figure that separates a backup from a battery.
Continuous output above your connected load, not your peak load. Anker's guidance is blunt about this: "the best results come from staying within the continuous output rating." A UPS is a sustained duty, not a brief one, and running near the ceiling permanently is a different proposition from doing it for ten minutes.
Pure sine wave output, which Anker lists among the requirements for genuine UPS behavior. Every unit we cover provides it, but it is worth checking on anything cheaper.
Somewhere ventilated to leave it. Anker's guidance notes that "good ventilation is essential because charging and inverting power both create heat" and recommends keeping units "cool, uncovered, and ventilated" for long-term standby. A permanently plugged-in unit in a closed cabinet is the most common way people shorten one of these.
Does leaving it plugged in wear the battery out?
This is the question everyone asks second, and the honest answer is that it depends on how the unit is designed and that the makers mostly do not document it. Some units bypass the battery when mains is present and only top it up occasionally; others cycle the battery continuously. The first costs you almost nothing; the second costs you cycles.
What we can say from published specification is that the LiFePO4 units we cover are rated between 3,000 and 4,000 cycles — Anker and EcoFlow to 80% remaining capacity, BLUETTI to 80% at 3,500+, Jackery to 70% at 4,000 — and that this is a large budget to spend. Anker's standby guidance is that "LiFePO4 models with smart management handle standby better" and to keep them cool and ventilated, which is a recommendation about heat rather than cycles. Heat is the variable you control.
We are not going to assert a percentage for pass-through wear, because we have not measured it and no maker in our set publishes it. How long power stations last covers what the cycle ratings do and do not tell you.
Where this matters most
For a router and a modem, this feature is the whole product — a sub-20 ms handover means the internet simply does not drop when the street does. Using a power station as a UPS for wifi and router is the specific build.
For a sump pump, it is the difference between a backup that works while you are asleep and one that needs you to go and plug it in. For a camping fridge on a site with a hook-up, pass-through alone is enough and the switchover figure barely matters.
And if you are sizing a unit for whole-house backup rather than a single appliance, what size power station for a power outage does that arithmetic, while the home backup roundup ranks the units.
The picks in full
1. Fastest published switchover
Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2

- 1,024Wh
- LiFePO4 (InfiniPower LFP)
- 2,000W continuous / 3,000W surge
- 24.9 lb
- 600W
- 80% capacity after 4,000 cycles
- Full in 49 min (UltraFast, 1,600W max input)
- 5 years
10 ms is the fastest published switchover in our whole set, and for anyone buying specifically to sit between the wall and something that must not reboot, that number is the reason to choose this unit. It sits at the bottom of the 20-50 ms band Anker's own guidance flags as risky for sensitive equipment, which is where you want to be.
The 49-minute full recharge at up to 1,600W input matters more in this role than people expect: after a short outage the unit is back at full readiness inside an hour rather than overnight, which is the difference between being covered for the second outage of a storm evening and not. 2,000W of continuous output gives genuine headroom for staying inside the continuous rating with a real household load connected.
The limitations for UPS duty are capacity and expansion. 1,024Wh is a modest buffer for a whole desk plus networking, and unlike the previous C1000 generation this one takes no expansion battery, so what you buy is what you have. Two AC sockets also goes quickly when a PC, a monitor and a router all want one.
Reasons to buy
- 10 ms switchover, the fastest published figure in our set
- 2,000W continuous, so a household load sits well inside the rating
- 1,600W AC input and a 49-minute full recharge between outages
- 80% capacity after 4,000 cycles — a large budget for standby duty
- 600W solar input if the outage outlasts the mains
Reasons to avoid
- 1,024Wh is a modest buffer for a full desk and networking
- Not expandable, unlike the previous C1000 generation
- Two AC sockets will not cover a PC, a monitor and a router
- Anker does not state pass-through charging explicitly in its listed specs
Buy it if: a desk, a NAS or networking equipment that must not blink when the street does.
Skip it if: you need hours of runtime rather than a seamless handover. Buy more battery.
2. The one that publishes pass-through plainly
BLUETTI AC180

- 1,152Wh
- LiFePO4
- 1,800W continuous / 2,700W surge
- 35.27 lb
- 500W
- 3,500+ cycles to 80% original capacity
- 1.3-1.8 hr full (1,440W max AC input)
- 5 years
BLUETTI is the only maker in our set that prints "Pass-through Charging: Yes" on the specification page itself, which sounds like a small thing and is not — it is the difference between knowing and inferring. For anyone buying this capability deliberately, an explicit disclosure beats a feature you have to deduce from a switchover figure.
1,152Wh is also the largest battery in the 1kWh class here, and for pass-through duty that buffer is the useful spec: four AC sockets, four USB-A ports, a 100W USB-C and a 15W wireless pad means one unit can sit under a desk and carry everything on it. 3,500+ cycles to 80% original capacity is the longest rating in its class here, which is the right property for a unit that lives plugged in.
20 ms is the slowest switchover of the units on this page, and it sits at the bottom edge of the band Anker warns about. For a fridge, lamps, a modem or a router that is irrelevant. For a desktop PC without its own buffer, test it rather than assume. At 35.27 lb it is also not a unit you will reposition casually.
Reasons to buy
- Publishes "Pass-through Charging: Yes" explicitly on its spec page
- 1,152Wh — the largest battery in its class here
- Four AC sockets plus four USB-A, a 100W USB-C and a wireless pad
- 3,500+ cycles to 80% original capacity, the longest rating in its class here
- 1.3-1.8 hour recharge at up to 1,440W input
Reasons to avoid
- 20 ms switchover, the slowest on this page
- 35.27 lb, which decides where it lives permanently
- 500W solar input; not expandable
- Published operating range stops at 40°C, with output capped at 1,500W above 30°C
Buy it if: a desk or a cabinet of household electronics, where socket count and buffer matter more than the last 10 ms.
Skip it if: one connected device genuinely cannot survive a 20 ms gap.
3. Best if the outage might outlast the battery
EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus

- 1,024Wh
- LFP (LiFePO4)
- 1,800W continuous / 3,600W surge
- 27.6 lb
- 1000W
- 4,000 cycles to 80%+ capacity
- Full in 56 min (1,500W AC input)
- 5 years
Under 10 ms puts this level with the Anker on the specification that defines UPS behavior, and then it adds the thing a long outage actually needs: 1,000W of solar input across two MPPT channels, and expansion to 5kWh. A backup that can be refilled from the lawn the morning after a storm is a different proposition from one that is simply empty.
1,800W of continuous output and six AC sockets covers a realistic cluster of household electronics without adapters, and the 56-minute recharge at 1,500W input means short mains windows are genuinely useful. EcoFlow also publishes up to 800W of alternator charging, which is an unusual but real third refill route if the outage is long and you have a vehicle.
EcoFlow does not state pass-through charging explicitly in the specifications we read, and it publishes no temperature range for this model either — relevant if the unit will live in an unheated garage or basement. Expansion batteries are also priced as accessories, so the 5kWh figure is a path rather than a purchase.
Reasons to buy
- Under 10 ms switchover, level with the fastest here
- 1,000W solar input across two MPPT channels for refilling mid-outage
- Expandable to 5kWh
- Six AC sockets and 1,800W continuous; 3,600W surge
- 56-minute wall recharge; up to 800W alternator charging; IP65 rated
Reasons to avoid
- Pass-through charging not stated explicitly in the specifications we read
- No temperature range published, which matters in a cold garage
- 1,024Wh head unit; expansion batteries are separate purchases
- The 1,000W solar figure needs two separate arrays
Buy it if: storm-country backup where the outage may outlast one battery and solar is available.
Skip it if: you want an explicit pass-through disclosure on the spec sheet before you buy.
Questions